It Came And Went So Fast

The above picture is an artifact from a time long ago when I still brushed my hair and showered. The below post was written in the same eon…

survivinghighschool.jpg
Shelb’s on the left, I’m on the right.

In case you haven’t realized by now, I live my life on the precipice of life and death. In the light of my personality, the word “dramatic” barely describes the shadows. For me, high school was one extended Battle of Hogwarts – only worse, because my life is sooooooooo hard wah wah wah.

I’m also a bit of a sap. This post was about my friend Shelby.

Shelby’s house was the first place I went after I got off bed rest during my junior year (this was after I smashed my heel, cliff-diving.) I hadn’t moved in weeks. She and her mom padded their car with blankets and pillows, picked me up, and transferred me to their couch where we lay and watched rom-coms with thrillingly promiscuous leading ladies.

Another thing – the first Saturday night I was mobile was the premier of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1. I needed to be Luna, but was unable to make a costume because I was sedated. Guess who put together my costume? That’s right, Shelb-a-licious. She even made me radish earrings.

So, I repaid her with a watercolor painting in which she has a clump of course straw for hair. Isn’t she so lucky?????

Shelb is an engineer now, one of the smartest people I know, AND she has a boyfriend. Karma has been working hard.

I didn’t go to college with her, though, so here I had to find a new friend who would take care of my broken mind and body. Thank gawd for random roommate selection. I met her freshman year.

Her name is Danielle. She is my warrior speed racing queen. Once, before an end-of-year flight home, I realized 25 minutes before take-off that I’d gotten my departure time wrong. I was downtown getting drinks with Danielle. The airport was 20 minutes away.

You better believe she got me to that flight on time.

A few weeks ago, I was in bed with a migraine throwing up all over myself when Danielle entered the danger zone and brought me a steaming mug of coffee.

So, now I’m repaying her with a drawing in which she has a clump of wrinkled straw for hair.

danielleandi.jpg
Danielle’s on the left, I’m on the right. (That’s also funny because Danielle’s a democrat and I’m a republican haha )

Life sure is poetic.

It is strange though, how quickly time goes. Almost exactly four years ago I was saying goodbye to high school, and now I am saying goodbye to college.

It came and went so fast.

I’m just thankful that my girls held on, though it all.

Not talking about boobs,

Amy

Leave a Reply

